The National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO) is the 501(c)(3), tax-exempt, not-for-profit umbrella organization of the nation’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs). Founded in 1969, NAFEO is the only membership association of its kind, representing the presidents and chancellors of the diverse black colleges and universities: public, private and land-grant, two-year, four-year, graduate and professional, historically and predominantly black colleges and universities.

Whether an institution is one of the 39 private black colleges and universities that belong to UNCF; one of the 47 public colleges and universities that belong to the Thurgood Marshall College Fund; one of the 18 land-grant universities or 19 other public universities that belong to the National Association of State Universities and Land-grant Colleges’ Office for the Advancement of Public Black Colleges; a black 2-year institution that belongs to the American Association of Community Colleges; or one of the new Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs), the institution has a voice and a vote in NAFEO.

NAFEO was founded to provide an international voice for the nation’s HBCUs; to place and maintain the issue of equal opportunity in higher education on the national agenda; to advocate policies, programs, and practices designed to preserve and enhance HBCUs; and to increase the active participation of blacks at every level in the formulation and implementation of policies and programs in American higher education.